FIT AS FU*K


Leave a comment

Do you remember when you started CF? Christoffer Gammelgaard, Denmark

Name: Christoffer Gammelgaard

Gym / webpage: www.wolfgear.dk 

Competitions? Placement: Fit As Fuck 2010, not ranked

1. When and where did you start CrossFit, and how did you hear about it?

Heard someone in school talking about a new fitness concept (Crossfit), they all said it was the toughest there was. Since I always have had a competitive mind (11 years of Waterpolo), I headed down to test it out in OBBC Crossfit.

2. What was your first WOD, how did it go, and how did you feel afterwards?

Can’t remember the exact WOD, but I think it was:

50 reps push press

200 meter

50 rep kettlebell swings (Russian style)

200 meter

50 rep sledgehammer

200 meter

After completion I was hooked, the competition between the athletes and the feeling of raw fitness.

3. Do you remember anything about when you started? Which exercises did you find difficult and was there anything you we’re unable to perform RX’ed?

I started in late 2009 if I remember correctly, not very serious for the first 1.5 years .I found all leg excersices and Olympic lifts IMPOSSIBLE! On my first squat day I failed with 60kg on my back (Todays PR 140kg), and first time I tried snatch I only made it to gripping the bar before I thought “This lift is impossible, I will hurt myself” and failed to try it for over a year.

4. What was your favorite WOD and lift when you started – and what is it now?

From the start I loved pull ups, I found it natural and easy to kip my way up to 32 pull ups in a short time. Now I have found a new love for squat and always look forward to my 2 squat days every week.

5. What has been your best CrossFit experience(s)?

Hard to put a finger on, but every time you set a new PR or reach one of you moving goals, I always get a personal satisfaction of achievement that is hard to find anywhere else.

6. Do you have any good advice for people who have just started CrossFit? Anything you wish that you had known/had done differently etc.?

I wished i started focusing on strength a lot sooner, I am currently following Crossfit Football to the letter and the gains are amazing (30 kg on squat in 2.5 months). A lot of athletes come in with great endurance, but lack strength in the 4 big lifts (deadlift, squat, bench press, press). Instead of just going to the box WOD 5 times a week, they should try to figure out their strength and weaknesses and work on the latter. Too many people work in their comfort zone. But in the end it always comes down to the amount of time and commitment you want to put into Crossfit.